Technical Assistance 

Region III-A  provides technical assistance to member counties and the municipalities located within each of those counties.  Member counties include Huntington CountyLaGrange County, Noble County, Steuben County, Wabash County and Whitley County.

Area of assistance includes:

  • Planning Assistance
  • Traffic Counts and Studies 
  • Corridor Studies
  • Economic Development Services
  • Grant Writing & Administration

Federal Agency State Agency Program
Housing & Urban Development Office of Community & Rural Affairs Community Development Block Grant
(CFF Construction)
Housing & Urban Development Office of Community & Rural Affairs Community Development Block Grant
(CFF Planning)
Economic Development Administration None Public Works
Economic Development Administration None Economic Programs
 Federal Highway Administration Indiana Department of Transportation  
 Federal Highway Administration Indiana Department of Transportation  Safe Route to Schools
 Environmental Protection Agency Indiana Brownfields Program
Indiana Finance Authority
 Assessment and Remediation
 Department of Energy Indiana Office of Energy Development Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant
Department of Homeland Security  None  Assistance to Firefighters Grant
Department of Agriculture
Rural Development
 None  Community Facilities Grant / Loan
National Telecommunications and Information Administration  None Broadband Technology Opportunities Program

Regional Planning and Coordination

Working with other regional agencies and organizations, Region III-A seeks to bring a higher level of efficiency to Northeast Indiana's community and economic development efforts through collaborative regional planning and coordination efforts.  Region III-A also serves as an effective liaison between federal and State agencies with our member counties.

  • Northeast Indiana Housing Partnership, Inc.
  • INDOT Rural Planning Organization Activities
  • State and Federal Agency Coordination
  • Regional Workshops and Events 
  • Primary Areas of Service Include:

           -  Community Development
           -  Economic Development
           -  Transportation Planning
           -  Housing Programs